Tuesday, March 29, 2011

New developments in MAYhem

There's been a shake-up in the rankings of the second annual Indie Music MAYhem. But at the same time, the line-up has been finalized. Here are the new developments:
IN: Man Man. I mentioned their new album earlier this month. They were on the bubble until today, they secured a spot today. I'm excited about their inclusion in the contest--they have that dark horse feel about them.
IN: My Morning Jacket. Album release date is official: May 31, same day as Death Cab's new one. Unlike last year, a few of the entries have late-May street dates, but I'm assuming they'll be floating around well enough in advance.
OUT: Radiohead. It's been brought to my attention that King of Limbs is hitting the streets today, not in May, so they're a no go. Which is probably a good thing, because I already love the King of Limbs so much that it would have a huge advantage on all the others.
So the contenders are:
  • Fleet Foxes - Helplessness Blues
  • Okkervil River - I Am Very Far
  • Man Man - Life Fantastic
  • My Morning Jacket - Circuital
  • Felice Brothers - Celebration, Florida
  • Death Cab for Cutie - Codes and Keys
The previews will start in April. For now, feel free to read through last year's MAYhem coverage on The Deeper In page.

No comments: